Why I Write Content: Reflecting on Simpler Times and Building a Brand

Harry Crabtree
3 min readSep 4, 2024
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I began my business journey in a rather unexpected way — by writing content. It all started with book reviews on LinkedIn. Looking back, I recall those times with a great fondness.

Life was much simpler then.

My mornings followed a familiar, comforting routine: I’d wake up, check the markets, and scroll through Twitter for the latest NFT launch. With a freshly brewed coffee in hand and a handful of vitamins and minerals, I would settle into a chair, open a book, and dive into a few chapters.

If I happened to finish a book, my next task was clear: write a LinkedIn post reviewing it. I aimed to convey the most meaningful lessons or ideas the book had imparted to me, hoping that my insights might inspire others. Writing book reviews became the foundation of my real business journey.

Of course, you could argue that I actually began at 13, selling fancy dress outfits, but that’s a story for another day.

Reflecting on the Simplicity of the Routine

So, what is the takeaway from this nostalgic rambling about those simpler times, when my only focus each day was to read and then write a book review? Here’s what I’ve come to realise:

  1. Have a Clear Task and a Goal for Each Day

--

--

Harry Crabtree

Write @https://shorturl.at/jAHRZ Entrepreneur. Investor. Writer. Cryptocurrency. Technology Writer, Approaching Business in 2023. Writing online. Community.